25 Republicans Rebel Against Boehner, Who Still Wins Speaker Vote

25 Republicans Rebel Against Boehner, Who Still Wins Speaker Vote

WASHINGTON — Twenty-five House Republicans publicly rebelled against John Boehner on Tuesday, voting for another candidate for speaker during Tuesday’s public floor vote but ultimately failing to prevent the Ohio Republican from winning re-election to the leadership post.

While these conservatives didn’t stop Boehner as they hoped, they will likely argue their votes sent a message of displeasure with the current GOP leadership.

Prior to the vote, at least 15 disaffected conservative House Republicans publicly said they would oppose Boehner. Texas Rep. Louie Gohmert and Florida Rep. Ted Yoho both offered themselves as alternative candidates for speaker, hoping to draw votes away from Boehner. Florida Rep. Daniel Webster was also nominated before the vote, garnering a surprising 12 votes.

Out of the 408 votes cast, Boehner won a slim majority of 216 votes.

Other surprising votes went to Sens. Rand Paul and Jeff Sessions. Some in the crowd on the floor chuckled when no-votes were announced.

Many of these conservatives are upset with Boehner over the recent budget deal at the end of last year, saying he failed to adequately use the opportunity to fight President Obama’s recent unilateral action on immigration. This conservative wing of the House has also long clashed with Boehner over the last few years over a variety of other political issues.

Though ousting Boehner was seen as a long shot endeavor from the start, the hope of the anti-Boehner bloc had been for enough Republicans to deny Boehner a majority of the vote on the first ballot, with the thinking that it would cause him to drop out of the race. Under that scenario, these conservatives hoped a consensus alternative for speaker would step up.

Those that voted against Boehner on Tuesday:

1. Rep. Justin Amash voted for Jim Jordan
2. Rep. Brian Babin voted for present
3. Rep. Rod Blum voted for Daniel Webster
4. Rep. Dave Brat voted for Jeff Duncan
5. Rep. Jim Bridenstine voted for Louie Gohmert
6. Rep. Curt Clawson voted for Rand Paul
7. Rep. Scott DesJarlais voted for Jim Jordan
8. Rep. Jeff Duncan voted for Trey Gowdy
9. Rep. Scott Garrett voted for Daniel Webster
10. Rep. Chris Gibson voted for Kevin McCarthy
11. Rep. Louie Gohmert voted Louie Gohmert
12. Rep. Paul Gosar voted for Daniel Webster
13. Rep. Tim Huelskamp voted for Daniel Webster
14. Rep. Walter Jones voted Daniel Webster
15. Rep. Steve King voted Daniel Webster
16. Rep. Thomas Massie voted Ted Yoho
17. Rep. Mark Meadows voted Daniel Webster
18. Rep. Rich Nugent voted Daniel Webster
19. Rep. Gary Palmer voted Jeff Sessions
20. Rep. Bill Posey voted Daniel Webster
21. Rep. Scott Rigell voted Daniel Webster
22. Rep. Marlin Stutzman voted Daniel Webster
23. Rep. Randy Weber voted Gohmert
24. Rep. Daniel Webster voted Daniel Webster
25. Rep. Ted Yoho voted Ted Yoho

Those efforts were hurt by the fact that a number of Democrats skipped the vote to attend former New York Gov. Mario Cuomo’s funeral.


  1. And now the SOB is punishing them: The House Republican leadership is carefully reviewing the list of members who voted against the speaker and those who opposed a procedural motion in December on the so-called “crominibus,” the $1.1 trillion spending package to keep the government open through to September.

    After he secured his third term as speaker Tuesday afternoon, losing 25 votes on the House floor to some relative-unknown members of the House Republican Conference, Boehner moved swiftly to boot Florida Reps. Daniel Webster and Rich Nugent from the influential Rules Committee.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.